speed sensor setup

Jondrane
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:24 am

speed sensor setup

Postby Jondrane » Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:04 pm

I have been trying to get my speed sensor and gear indicatior accurate, but for some reason I can not get both to work.

I currently have the pulses per KM set to 3250 and used a satnav compare speed against and make adjustments untill correct but my gear indicator is out by 1 gear.

The car has 175/50/13 tyres with the below ratios:-
1: 3.500
2: 1.956
3: 1.344
4: 1.071
5: 0.812
FD: 4.562

If I change the pulses per revolution to 2524 as calculated with using a roling diameter of 1578mm and 4 pulses per revolution i get the gear indicator correct but the speedo is way out.

Do you have any ideas why this could be happening?

Thanks in advance

racetec
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:02 pm

Re: speed sensor setup

Postby racetec » Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:02 am

Are you using the automatic tool to set up your gear ratios? What are you putting in for your wheel circumference?

If you are getting the correct speed with your pulses per km set to a particular value then that is correct. Don't adjust that to get the gearing right. It is the gearing settings which are not correct.

Jondrane
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:24 am

Re: speed sensor setup

Postby Jondrane » Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:56 am

Hi,
I am using the automatic tool to set the gear indicator from the ratios.

I have got my circumference set to 1578mm for the 175/50/13 tyres.

racetec
Site Admin
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:02 pm

Re: speed sensor setup

Postby racetec » Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:35 am

can you please email the configuration this generates directly over to me, mhill at race-technology.com and I'll take a look for you.


Return to “General support questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests