DL1 - no GPS lock

msimanyi

DL1 - no GPS lock

Postby msimanyi » Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:38 am

I'm a novice user of my DL1, and I'm having some real problems with it. When I power it up I see the upper right (green Status) LED flickering, and the lower left (red Power) LED.

The GPS lock for the most part remains unlit, even if I allow 10+ minutes to acquire satellites, though a repower occasionally yields a constant flash (at which time the unit will not begin logging.) My GPS receiver is in the middle of my roof and has a clear shot of the sky.

Any suggestions will be welcome. I'm at a loss as to the source of the problem or the fix.

Mike Simanyi

jlucas

Postby jlucas » Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:56 am

Has it worked before, or did you just get this unit?

Sounds like a bad antenna. I've only seen that happen once a brand new unit but is there anyone local to you that you can try swapping with?
Jeremy Lucas
Fast Tech Limited - a Race Technology Dealer

msimanyi

Postby msimanyi » Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:50 pm

I got the unit in November, if I recall correctly. I've used it a couple times while trying to familiarize myself with it, but it's been kinda intermittent. We put it in one friend's car for a couple laps and he didn't get any data because it wouldn't lock.

But after that I've used it successfully. One possible caveat: the GPS lock never really worked the way it was described to me Saturday. I'm told it flashes for the number of satellites acquired. Mine has never flashed with any pattern.

I ordered another antenna last night. If that *isn't* the problem, I'll have a spare. Hopefully it's the problem.

RTUSA
Site Admin

Postby RTUSA » Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:31 pm

Mike:

If it IS the antenna, we owe you a new one under warranty!

By the way, your DL1 is presumably a 10Hz unit judging by the date. The 10Hz units act a bit differently -

When GPS lock is achieved:

5Hz units: Long flash, followed by a quick short flash for each satellite seen. Repeats every few seconds.