DL1 RPM Issues

jvollrath

DL1 RPM Issues

Postby jvollrath » Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:40 am

Hello,
I'm on a college FSAE team and we're trying to get our DL1 to log RPM data. I have a test setup with a small motor that simulates the flywheel sensor. This signal tells my ECM to send the signal to the spark plugs. In the test setup I have taken the spark plug signals in inputted them into the DL1's rL signal input. However, the DL1 doesn't record any RPM data. After that, I tried putting the spark signal into rH, but that didn't work either.

Any ideas? Thanks for any help

-John

osborni

Postby osborni » Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:27 pm

I would suggest hooking up an oscilloscope to the spark plug signal to ensure it's within the specs RT provides. 5-15 volts, square wave, ~50% duty cycle.

Fly sensors are normally variable inductance, not hall effect, so the signal is much dirtier then a hall effect.

I'm not an expert at engine management, but it would be reasonable to have the injector signal be a cleaner signal than the spark plug. Even if the spark (coil on plug) is a trigger signal from the ECU, there's a lot of noise going on in that package.

I'm surprised that you ECU doesn't have a dedicated RPM output signal.

Also ensure that your DL1 has been set up to record RPM.
Last edited by osborni on Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BMW 2000 M Coupe

Turby

Postby Turby » Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:17 pm

A lot of ECU's turn off injectors on the overrun to save fuel... hence you will loose the rpm signal. The same can happen for signal sent to the coil(s).

jvollrath

Postby jvollrath » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:05 pm

We have a custom ECM developed by a few team members 4 years ago, so that's what we use.

When you say enable the DL1 for RPM data collection, what does this entail? I remember selecting/deselecting a checkbox in the configuration for the DL1, but is there more to it than that?