I need help calculating %grade as a variable/measure

Crhoades
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:32 pm

I need help calculating %grade as a variable/measure

Postby Crhoades » Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:46 pm

New user here. We are using RT in a mining application to measure haul roads.

I need help with creating a user defined variable: Grade

Grade is defined as: change in rise/change in run * 100

In the variable manager I can only have access to GPS altitude(m) and distance (m).

In the summary statistics you can create a measure with:
value at start
value at end
change in.

So I have created measurements for change in GPS altitude and for change in distance.

What I can't figure out is how to create a variable/measure to give me the grade calculation using those 2.

Can I script a variable and somehow use the change in function?

Thanks for your help and time.

Support

Postby Support » Wed Jun 26, 2013 4:01 pm

Hi,

This is quite a common application, we call it gradient and it's available as an angle (degrees) in the GPS variables. You could easily convert this to grade with a formula. It might be possible to do it based on altitude, but the answer would not be very accurate. We've done quite a lot of work on gradient and you can get the results to an accuracy of 0.01degrees with some filtering, and easily to with 0.1degrees.

http://www.race-technology.com/wiki/ind ... ntAccuracy

However.... this is only available with either a 20Hz GPS license, or if maximum accuracy is required our SPEEDBOX product.

If you want more information on this it's probably best to email us directly at andrew@race-tech*****.com.

thanks!

Andy

Crhoades
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:32 pm

Postby Crhoades » Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:40 pm

Andy,

Thanks for your assistance. We went ahead and purchased the 20Hz license and now have gradient data.

I sent you an email regarding the formula.

What could I put in as a user defined variable to convert gradient to %grade?

Thanks again for your help!

Support

Postby Support » Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:39 am

I've not seen an email yet... I'm on andrew@race-tech......com.

Thanks,

Andy

Crhoades
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:32 pm

Postby Crhoades » Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:16 pm

I'm guessing you remove the ......in you're email address and replace with the whole word, correct?

Feel free to answer here in the forum. My email basically restates what I've put here.

Thanks again for all of your help!

Regards,
Chris

racetec
Site Admin
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:02 pm

Postby racetec » Thu Jul 25, 2013 1:24 pm

You guessed correctly Chris :)


Return to “How do I...”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests