Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Sun Jan 07, 2018 2:53 pm

Pulling my hair out over this one and I suspect it's something simple.

Just wired the analogue channels into the brand new dash 2, oil and fuel and they work ok but the dash won't read anything coming from the omex600

In map4000 I've set up the serial channel exactly as per the knowledge base, the only input I don't have is lambda 2 but I've just selected something else for that.

IMG-20180107-WA0003.jpg
IMG-20180107-WA0003.jpg (167.98 KiB) Viewed 6598 times


Then on the dash 2 I've entered the ECU interface and selected the ones I want



IMG-20180107-WA0002.jpg
IMG-20180107-WA0002.jpg (175.73 KiB) Viewed 6598 times


But the values do not show on the screen, they are just zeros

IMG-20180107-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20180107-WA0001.jpg (136.89 KiB) Viewed 6598 times


I can't find anything else in the map4000 software to enable anything and I'm stuck. I haven't changed any of the ECU wiring and I'm simply using the aerial adapter thing that was sent with the dash

Any ideas folks?

Support
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:09 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby Support » Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:16 pm

Hello,

The ECU setup should look more like this...

Image

I can email you the ECU setup file. Please send me an email and i will reply Kieran @ race - technology . com

Kind regards,
Support
______________________________
Posted by Race Technology Support

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:09 pm

Yes, looks exactly like that other than the second lambda 1 is just a random one that I used . The RT document states I should use lambda 2 which doesn't exist in the Omex
My email address is tony.birkbeck@btconnect.com , does the set up file change anything other than this screen?

Support
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:09 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby Support » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:03 am

Hello,

I will email you the setup file anyway but I believe it doesn't do anything else.

1) Please can you connect the interface like this...

Image

2) Open live monitor
Image

3) Connect to port connected to interface
Image

4) Switch on the power to the interface and ECU

Do you see any data?
Image

If no, do you see any OK or error samples counting up?
Image


Kind regards,
Support (K)
______________________________
Posted by Race Technology Support

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:16 am

ok, ill try and get to this as soon as possible - the car is some distance away from me so it might need to be this weekend -ill report back asap :D

ps - I haven't received an email ??

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:50 pm

Hi

right connected as per above but we cannot see any data and we have errors, the OK error rate is increasing all the time, note also that live monitor is a slightly different version?

what does this mean?? 8)

errords.jpg
errords.jpg (128.01 KiB) Viewed 6559 times


version.jpg
version.jpg (124.8 KiB) Viewed 6559 times

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:41 pm

hi - support, any idea what the next step is?? :D

Support
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:09 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby Support » Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:57 pm

Hi Tony,

The OK messages is confirmation the interface is alive.
- The live monitor sends out a message which is restransmitted back to live monitor from the interface.

THis confirms...
- Power is OK
- PC communications is OK
- Interface is OK on the transmit side

Now we need to check the ECU is outputting the data. Connect the live monitor directly to the ECU. Just to be clear rmeove the ECU interface and connect the serial port directly to the connector that was going to the ECU interface from the ECU.

1) The ECU outputs data at 38,400. Change the baud rate on the live monitor
Image

2) Swtich on the ECU and the interface

3) You should now see errors counting up in live monitor, do you?
- Live monitor only displays Race Technology messages. If it receives messages that do not match our protocol it will count it as an error.

If no then please check connections and ECU setup.

If yes, please capture 1 minute of error using the live monitor and email me the created file and i will check the data is correct.

Kind rgeards,
Support (K)
______________________________
Posted by Race Technology Support

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:05 pm

Thanks Keiran - will get back to you as soon as I can - in the mean time can you mail me the Omex 600 set up file to tony.birkbeck@btconnect.com please and ill ask Rob to load that as well so we know 100% we have that bit right too...

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:09 pm

Hi keiran

Still not received the Omex file?

Ok, live monitor plugged directly into ECU and error count is rising all the time the ECU is switched on ( see pictures below). I can't see what you mean about recording 1 minutes worth of errors? How do you do that as far as I can see there are no options for me to start recording them in live monitor?

What is the next step? :D
IMG-20180115-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20180115-WA0006.jpg (160.53 KiB) Viewed 6485 times
IMG-20180115-WA0007.jpg
IMG-20180115-WA0007.jpg (101.79 KiB) Viewed 6485 times

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:08 pm

And not sure if this screen helps

It's the raw data, the show text message screen is just blank

IMG-20180115-WA0014.jpg
IMG-20180115-WA0014.jpg (120.65 KiB) Viewed 6480 times

Support
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:09 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby Support » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:14 pm

Hello,

The live monitor is receiving byte value FF constantly which is telling me the data being received from the ECU is not at the correct baud rate or live monitor was not set to 38400.

I have sent the setup file now (sorry) please try loading it is and double checking the baud rate in live monitor is set to 38400 and try again.

To capture the data please follow these steps...

1) Click 'Start logging input data to disc'
Image

2) Select log everything and click ok
Image

3) After 1 minute of logging when errors are counting up
Image

4) You should now see a result in the results explorer. Right click and select open file location. Email me the .run file.
Image
______________________________
Posted by Race Technology Support

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:13 pm

Thanks Keiran

I've now loaded the setup file you sent via map4000 and sent this configuration into the ECU, it didn't actually change anything.

The Omex is being a bit temperamental with connection to the pc, it seems to take ages before it actually connects, anyway the baud rate is at 38400

Live monitor connects much more easily, we connected at 38400 and now have the run file which I have emailed you

Note that the live monitor version that we are using is slightly different from your screen shot...

Looking forward to getting the next steps... :D

IMG-20180116-WA0003.jpg
IMG-20180116-WA0003.jpg (14.92 KiB) Viewed 6462 times

Support
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:09 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby Support » Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:04 am

Data received.

The data is just FF's which means it is not outputting the data correctly.
Image

If all these things are true then it is time to contact OMEX
1) The ECU excepted the configuration file and is showing baud rate 38400
2) The live monitor is configured to 38400
3) You are able to check the ECU is configured to 38400 using the same connection you are using to capture the data. (This confirms the commination is working)
4) The ECU is running firmware 0.70 or later

Please confirm and I will forward to OMEX for you.

Kind regards,
Support (K)
______________________________
Posted by Race Technology Support

tony b
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Dash 2 to omex 600 problem

Postby tony b » Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:11 am

Hi keiran, the live monitor is definitely at 38400. The Omex is definitely set to 38400 in the telemetry serial set up - I'm not aware of any other settings in the Omex that change the baud rate??

The config file was accepted but didn't actually change anything I had previously done using the instructions on the knowledge base

Firmware is definitely ok

Are you contacting Omex or should we?


Return to “Installation problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest